top of page
  • Khushi Gurdatta

PHASE 4: REALIZE

Capstone was a great learning experience for me. I had an end number of learnings and discoveries. I connected so many from the previous learnings as well as made sense with the practical world. I had a major realization just a few days before the submission. I noticed a connection between our chosen subject, our ideation, and its impact on our outcome. After receiving the crit, I noticed that my outcome does not have my visual language. I was upset when I suddenly saw the importance of experimentation. I was feeling upset when I could not find my visual language in my outcome nor my ideation. Everything seemed wrong when I saw my process. Again and again, it felt like, I should have gone a step further.


Capstone was a different journey in which, I got to reflect on the journey of 8 months. It gave me a chance not to repeat the mistakes I have done earlier. As an individual, I was always afraid of facing uncertainty and I usually used to give up during the middle. But in this project, I tried to face all barriers and confusion. I had rough days but still tried my best to be consistent and interactive. Not only the flow of the project helped me to grow as an individual but I also gained some things from my mentors and peers.


During Capstone, I learned a number of skills. One of them is observation. Observation is a very basic but at the same time most crucial thing anyone can understand. While coming towards the end of the journey, I learned to make intricate observations and find unique properties and elements which make a subject different from others. Observing things and then making connections with them can anytime, spark an idea.


During the process, I think I took a very calculative approach. I am taking steps with caution so that I won't deviate myself on a different path. This approach partially helped me and partially didn't. I felt that due to this approach, sometimes I used to restrict myself from going beyond but at the same time, it also helped in understanding the process more deeply. I am still confusing that whether I should continue this practice or not.

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page