top of page
  • Khushi Gurdatta

PHASE 3: ITERATIVE DESIGN DEVELOPMENT-1



Threads


These are my threads:-


Feelings

I chose this thread because everyone including me goes through a set of feelings while having coffee. I would like to visualize those.


Color

The color of the coffee is the essence of it. It makes a coffee recognizable and special


Texture

During the exploration phase, I came across different kinds of textures. I saw textures more than I ever noticed or thought.


Taste

The bitter taste of the bean and the sweet taste is after it's made is worth representing.


Form

The form of the bean has its own essence which can be captured in many ways.


Temperature

Different kinds of emotions and experiences evoke by the change in the coffee temperature. Sometimes, I prefer to have cold and sometimes hot.


Culture

During my study, I understood the importance of coffee culture which has been following since the 16th century. Also the evolving culture of youth coffee drinking habits.


Aroma

The aroma is another main element in a coffee. It can have a great impact on a person.



Explorations


1st attempt


Initially, I was really confused about how to start. I contacted some of my peers but did not get so much clarity. Due to this confusion, I did not book an appointment with my tutors and started my explorations a day later. I still regret that. But eventually, I started my ideation according to the threads. I assumed that I have to work on the form of only one bean. I attempted to mold it, change it and sometimes arrange it abstractly to achieve the threads.



2nd attempt


This was day 3, after receiving the feedback, I tried to analyze it and widen it by the arena. Therefore, this time I tried to use different forms and applied the thinking tools that we have learned. I made some associations but only according to the observational drawings. I even thought that I have to capture the essence by using its essence like coffee color. Till this point, I was only trying to capture the feeling of a coffee.


After analyzing my ideations, I thought that I got right and felt stuck by forcing myself by using only thinking tools.



3rd attempt


Due to the rigidity, this time I tried to play with the beans without thinking of any tools. But made me feel that I am doing something endlessly and therefore stopped myself. I always felt that I face difficulties while working in dark. I should see some purpose or meaning in the things that I am doing. I will be in the process when I understand and analyze things and work for them. This attitude sometimes restricts me from moving into unknown territory and experimentation. I try to go with the flow but it's hard.


I went through the study of Phase 2 and suddenly saw the importance of experiments while discussing them. Afterward, I had some fun doing the experiments. I thought that through experimentation, I will be able to create some texture that can be used for ideation.


After getting the feedback, I came to know that I had to click pictures of the arrangement and then find something meaningful. They asked me not to call anything mindless.


4th attempt


This phase of ideations was full of Aha! and Oho! moments. It felt like I have understood everything and I am going in the right way.


Firstly, after receiving the feedback, I understood that I have to make associations with the untangible things that I feel about the coffee.


Secondly, in connection with the earlier though I felt the importance of using the journey of 8 months and then work upon my ideations instead of just using the thinking tools. Due to this realization, I even made a mindmap to track every activity I did in the past 8 months. I thought that this will help me gaining fluidity in my work


Thirdly, I was going through my explorations when I noticed that I have tried to use symmetry and pattern in one way or another. Therefore, I thought that maybe I could keep that in mind while doing further explorations


5th attempt



Finally understood the essential ingredient of moving freely in the 5th attempt.



Reflection


I experienced a lot of eureka moments in this phase. I had several realizations made various connections. I realized the connection of ideation with our 8-month journey then I created a visual map to list down the learning of the past months. Along with this, I made associations with the previous phase of the project.


Even though I managed to connect a lot of dots between the previous learning and the feedback. While experiencing the eureka moments, I was happy but at the same time helpless and guilty. After enjoying a couple of moments of happiness. I feel guilty because I want to relive those moments and undo my mistakes.

At times, I even felt overwhelmed because now I can sense the amount of work that I have increased for myself. Usually, I deal with these situations by sleeping.


Discussion about previous projects helped in getting a better understanding but overthinking about it complicated things. One more was starting the work even when I was clueless.

Interaction with mentors for few minutes did really helped me in keeping myself up to date.


I felt that being so analytical of the process led to overthinking. At a certain point, it started affecting my work and creative process. Due to overanalyzing, at moments, I used to feel stuck because I was moving rigidly. Later, mentors helped me to move ahead a bit freely. It actually helped me a lot. I learned that I should focus more on working and less on analyzing.


I felt that I could have challenged and explored more during the ideations.


In the future, if the same situation arose again, I think I will still analyze things slightly because I cannot control them blindly but I will start working even after understanding a bit and explore.


 





45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

PHASE 4: REALIZE

Capstone was a great learning experience for me. I had an end number of learnings and discoveries. I connected so many from the previous learnings as well as made sense with the practical world. I had

bottom of page