top of page
  • Khushi Gurdatta

JOURNEY OF AN OBJECT-LJL

PART 1: Note to Future Self


Dear Future Self,


Hope you are doing okay. I have recently completed the first project of Term-2. Now, I have to write a note to you. Design is about solving problems. Design is a conscious effort to solve a problem keeping in mind certain factors like aesthetics, user and context, etc. Design is also a way of communication. Design is a medium through which we express ourselves like storytelling or animation.

I want to be the kind of designer who works to the best of the ability according to the client's brief, whose job involves traveling. I want to be the kind of designer who can voice if I will find something objectionable according to me.

One of the desirable qualities that I would like to see in you is humbleness. Trying to understand other's work and appreciate it. At the same time, learn from it. Because I think jealously is a common and gigantic hurdle in our way of learning.

Another desirable quality is physical appearance. I should always look presentable. Since design is a field of creativity, therefore, I want to be someone who looks different. Because I will be able to see the elements and principles and thought that others might not. I should have my own perspective in terms of appearance which will make me look unique and at the same time confident.

thirdly, I would like to see myself as a passionate individual who will do things not only for the sake of designing but for the desire to know about it. Someone, who will make time for research.

Some basic qualities that I would like to have in myself as a designer will be effective communication skills, organized- in terms of a presentation, willingness to experiment, take challenges, etc.


I will keep this in mind before taking up any design activity-

Demographics of the person assigning the project.

Patiently understanding the brief before signing it. Weigh the pros and cons.

think of the consequences of the design. Whether it is aligning with your beliefs.

Don't jump to conclusions that whether the design brief is easy, or difficult.


As a designer, it is a responsibility to make sure that in the process people are not getting hurt. They are well informed. It is a sustainable design.


 

PART 2: REFLECTING


TEAMWORK


Advantages


Generating ideas

Feedback and feedforward

Coordination

Workload


Recommendations


Be more interactive

Team up with different students

Divide the work equally

Understand that everyone is accountable for the work


VISUAL TOOLS AND TECHNIQUES


Observational drawing

learned the use of ai

Used different techniques


METHODS OF INQUIRY


Primary method

Secondary method

 

Illustrated Glossary






 

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page