top of page
  • Khushi Gurdatta

ESSENCE OF COLOR-LJL

Tonal variation of colors


I faced some challenges while extracting the color of some objects due to light and shadow on the surface which resulted in tonal variation. Even though it was riveting to deal with watercolor medium and explore a number of swatches. I had a hard time dealing with my patience at some points. After doing a couple of swatches hurriedly, I quickly realized that I messed up. Color extraction was an enigmatic feeling because in the process of discovering one swatch we end up discovering twenty extra swatches of the hue.


It was difficult to extract color from some material such as the packing of blue lays. In this packaging, the plastic is lustrous and it keeps on changing even if the package is moved a bit.


Color Extraction of lays



It was difficult to control the variation having through light and shadow. For example, while I was painting the color swatch of Panasonic cell. The light had a humongous dominance in changing the color but the light. I kept the object on a white surface


Color Extraction of Panasonic Cell



Symbolism and Association


During the sessions, we had a discussion on a documentary that was uploaded by our faculties. The documentary mainly talked about the colors and their wide spectrum. A small part of the documentary struck me that 'every color evokes a particular feeling or message. But every person had different perspectives for a single color.'

For some people, the yellow color depicts happiness whereas for some people yellow makes them sick. We can understand the meaning and psychology of color but the challenging part is the placement of the color. It’s challenging to place the color in such a manner so that it will evoke the same feeling and emotion for everyone. The placement of colors is really important. It should create a feeling of familiarity but at the same time, people should wonder how they have created this? How is this possible?

A recent example struck my mind. It is the rebranding of Vodafone and the Idea merger. The meaning and symbolism behind the logo are meaningful. The selection of colors is appropriate. Along with that, the logo is also short and simple. But the correct placement is missing. Because of the inappropriate placement of colors, the logo is less appreciable and less attractive.

Therefore, understanding color is really important. A single right and wrong placement can make all the difference.


Process of Inquiry


TOOLS OF INQUIRY


I learned various tools of inquiry. The inquiry was an interesting part because it helped me to bridge the gap between the learning and the application part. I felt like it was a one-step towards being a designer. I still find it bizarre that how a hue of blue opened an arena with endless information. The more I question myself, the more I experienced the reasons and I kept on moving deeper. It was a fascinating turning point for me. With help of this activity, I learned the most important thing of observation as it is the most essential key to open any doors. I won't be able to think anything or question anything if I won't follow the first step of observation.


It was a thrilling and long day for me. Completely shifting digitally was a bit overwhelming at first but gradually I got a hang of it. With the help of Gauravi ma’am and under her constant supervision I was able to complete my task. Towards the end, I was satisfied with the result.


The survey was interesting to approach we took upon the 5th day of our project. I particularly find this approach important and useful. With the help of surveys, I was able to understand other people's views and opinions apart from my peers. In all the other approaches, we saw things mainly from a group of students who are mostly thinking more or less the same.


For example, just out of curiosity, I sent the same survey to my college peers and my other family and relatives. The response to one question stuck with me. The question was, what does blue color remind them about? Most of my college peers choose the option of bathroom cleaners whereas almost all my family and friends choose the option nature. It was so strange for me to see that. This business happened because our classmates have seen us working on the blue objects for a consecutive week.


RESPONSIVE WRITING


Writing reflecting writing on day 6 was quite challenging for me and I struggled with it. Therefore, as we moved one step ahead to write the responsive writing, it became only a bit easier. In the beginning, it took me a fortune to understand the difference between reflective and responsive writing. With the help of the tutor and peers, I was able to start writing.


I wrote everything which I found relevant. After finishing the responsive writing. I got it checked and made few edits and added some visuals.


General


MODE OF LEARNING


This mode of learning was more engaging for me. Constant discussions and sharing kept me attentive throughout the class. Since we had the maximum amount of discussions during this class, it helped in generating a different chain of thoughts. I had to articulate my thoughts properly so that I will be able to communicate them with another person. After every class, I was able to explain with better terminology. Doing things visually was a cherry on top. Every topic seemed easier and interesting with visuals. In the activity of cinematography, it was so informative but at the same time interesting to see movies from a different perspective. Visual references made it so easier to understand.


There were constant challenges I faced. One of them was consistency. I felt like in every class, you need to complete your previous work in order to make interconnections otherwise, it's difficult to actively participate in the next class.


Another challenge was the acceptance of the other person's point of view. During the inquiry, peers discuss, contradict your statements, survey results are sometimes unexpected. It was important but at the same time difficult to articulate and think critically, instead of being defensive.


Overall, I personally liked this process of active learning.







15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page