top of page
  • Khushi Gurdatta

CULTURE AND COMMUNITY-LJL

Social Media is a platform that introduced us to a lot of people which who we can share our common experiences and interests. During this time of the pandemic, the world is shifting more towards digitalization. People have access to so many different social media apps that now they have formulated smaller communities to be a part have. Each community has consciously or unconsciously had a set of norms and beliefs that everyone tends to follow.


These are some norms according to me-



The social media community does not have a rigid set of norms or rules but unconsciously people have started creating their own. Despite being a modern culture- there were cultures that existed in the physical world and simply moved online.

For example: Meeting new people used to be a physical culture but now, we still communicate with other people but digitally.


Another example can be that earlier person used to appreciate a person by having a face-to-face conversation. In modern culture, a like button is sufficient.


Therefore, modern culture is evolved from our earlier traditions, but now the outlook has been changed.


Some of the social media artifacts are-

  • Tags

  • feeds

  • dashboards


 

THE SOCIAL DILEMMA



I was dumbstruck after watching this film. A few personalities flipped the coin to show the other side of social media. After watching it, I started reflecting on the time I spend on social. From this documentary, I imbibed that we should use social media but consciously. This shows that how gigantic companies have created their model to hijack our attention and jeopardize our imagination.


Tristan Harris, who was a former design ethicist at google shared the unethical design practices that successfully captivates the mind of 2 billion people. One of the unethical practice which I have been influenced by is the notifications. I have noticed that I immediately grab my phone when I see the flash of light.


I learned a lot from that documentary. It was impressive.


 

TED TALK: CONNECTED, NUT ALONE? by Sherry Turkle


In this video of 20 mins, I was able to think of the time when I use my phone as means of escapism. In this video, she gracefully made us realize the moments and ourselves we are losing in this modern era. Digital Technologies have made it a problem to be alone. People think that it is embarrassing to be in solitude. Our escapism in confronting is affecting us.


I got to see a new perspective from this video and also got some more situations when I need to be mindful of my decisions.



 

Illustrated Glossary






9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page