top of page
  • Khushi Gurdatta

FOVL-1

When it comes to fundamentals of visual language initially, we started working with dots and lines. Dots and lines have distinct characteristics and functions.



I understood the importance of a dot at the very first day of our project when our faculties made us watch a video. I understood that every dot and line have its own value and meaning. You cannot differentiate it as good or bad and tidy or untidy. In fact, dots are the building block of everything else. Every shape, form, mass, or blob with a recognizable center is essentially a dot regardless of its size.

This is the link of the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D_QhIVYlcmE


While we often think of dots as circular in nature, they don’t have to be.

Things got more interesting when we started arranging dots of varying size to represent themes like cloud, rain and rhythm. As we moved further, we started using different shapes and tried to represent various other shapes.



Towards the end of the project, we started exploring different textures and tones along with different medium. Working with charcoal, micro tip pen and black ink was a completely new experience for me. I loved working with the black ink even though it was a bit challenging at first. Overall, I got used to the medium and I starting exploring it. The ink was really beautiful and pleasing.


Along with this, our daily drawing document was an integral part of our module. In this activity, we had to do rapid sketches of a specific object daily. My daily drawing document object was a Handi Cooker. I have made 50 perspectives of a single object. These are a glimpse of my work:

You can access the folder on this link: https://drive.google.com/drive/u/0/folders/1_WfhIVUxVamLBTa9UNG72z2twRnRXI57

CONCLUSION

Visual language is not something that manifests overnight. It develops organically and with practice. The shifts can be so subtle as to be virtually imperceptible and, at times, will come to fruition. Initially, I had difficulties in some of the activities but gradually it started making sense and became more enjoyable.

Also, I had some amazing 6 days with Kishore sir and Josh sir. I never expected that I would make so many memories in such a small-time frame. Even though we were not sitting together, but we had that connection throughout the session. The way Kishore sir used to play a small motivational video every day in the morning. When both faculty members used to give us high five to encourage us and motivated us to explore further. At the end of the session, I learnt a lot from them. Most importantly, I learnt the importance of messing.


‘Drawings can never be categorized as bad or illogical or a waste. Everything has its own meaning and beauty. We just gradually improve over a period of time with consistent practice and hard work.’

37 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page