top of page
  • Khushi Gurdatta

ACTIVITY 4|EXPRESSIVE TYPOGRAPHY

The aim of the fourth activity was to introduce us to the role that communication plays and how effective it can be to represent a thought, feeling, or emotion in design.


Expressive typography is an art form where the text is highly visual, actually, type becomes an image there. Letters are not just abstract notions but carriers of meaning. They are also real, physical shapes.



Warm-up activity


This was a group activity and was a prelude to a larger session to be followed later. For today’s session, my group members were Atreyo, Kriti, and Mohak.


In today’s activity, we had to discover how the meaning of a word can be enhanced by the right choice of fonts, font size, orientation, letter spacing, weight variation, and composition in a visual field.

After the demonstration, we had to work in pairs and work on one word individually. I got the word Immediate.


These were the following ideas that I worked upon:



The three lines at the corner of every alphabet depict a fast movement towards the right direction





The letters are a bit distorted to show the effect of speed.




After receiving the feedback, I gave a second attempt and improved it. - 29.10.20

Typography created using illustrator


Main Activity


The cream of the day’s session was held in the main activity phase. The workflow was the same as in the warm-up activity. We first worked individually and then collected together in our respective groups to discuss and to receive feedback from our faculties.


This time, we had to select any paragraph along with a theme that we want to represent and compose them using appropriate fonts in order to express them.


Paragraph: A blackness swept over his brain and wiped out terror. There was no more panic. He felt drowsy and wanted to sleep. He gave up all attempts. He forgot everything. When he came to his senses, he found himself lying on his stomach beside the pool vomiting. The boy who had thrown him in said, “I was only fooling.” Someone said that the kid had nearly died. Then they took him to the locker room.


Title: Drowning

These were the idea that I came up with:


First attempt Second attempt




Reflection


Expressive Typography was completely a different type of skill that I was learned today. I saw how much effect and impact can be created by just making a few adjustments in words. In today's think lab activity we reviewed our peer's works. It was actually a really helpful method of learning. We recommended some new ideas and appreciated their work as well. Lastly, at the end of the discussion, each student had to give a vote to the work that they liked the most. I found the voting method a bit biased. Because while giving that one vote, it struck me that most of the students try to give their 100 percent but sometimes, they make few mistakes, and not getting that one vote can make a huge difference for him/her. For a designer, constructive criticism is always appreciable but not titling something best during the process of learning.

Like always, the think lab activity was mindboggling and an amazing challenge.


 

LEARNING MANTRAS


Effective communication through every medium is really important





38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

REFLECTION

I woke up from the squeaky sound of my alarm and lazily made my way towards the dining room. I sat on the desk and opened my computer. I was scrolling through my emails when I heard the stimulating vo

bottom of page